Excellence in Service

at University Hospital Kerry 

People of UHK Award Winners 2023

On the 1st of August, the Ballygarry Estate outside Tralee played host to the much-awaited People of UHK Awards, a heartwarming ceremony orchestrated by University Hospital Kerry (UHK) to celebrate the exceptional individuals and teams shaping lives within their care. Now in its second year, this event shines a spotlight on those who exemplify the essence of compassion, dedication, and innovation within UHK, leaving an indelible mark on patients, families, and colleagues alike.

Mrs. Mary Fitzgerald, General Manager of UHK, opened the event with her inspiring opening remarks, expressing profound gratitude to the nominees and the entire UHK team for their unwavering commitment to the well-being of their patients and the seamless operation of the hospital. Commenting on the People of UHK she said the people receiving awards today are representative of the many great people who work in UHK. People that work together and work as a team, produce the best results.

The hospital received approximately 500 nominations from the public and UHK team members alike, a testament to the profound impact made by the people who work in UHK.

Mairead Brosnahan, hailed for her exemplary leadership, was crowned with the esteemed Leadership Award, while Ann O’Riordan earned the coveted People of UHK Award, a tribute to her outstanding service and embodiment of the hospital’s values. The Cashel Ward team’s collaborative brilliance was recognised with the Team of the Year Award, a testament to their seamless teamwork in delivering unparalleled care to their patients.

Shining a spotlight on the unsung staff members who play a crucial role behind the scenes in UHK, the Unsung Champion Award found its deserving recipients in Cora Walsh and Carty O’Donoghue, both embodying the true essence of selfless support and dedication to their colleagues at UHK.

The People of UHK Awards 2023 shone a spotlight on exceptional individuals whose remarkable contributions to patient care left an indelible mark on those they served. These seven Patient Care winners were nominated by patients and their families for their unwavering commitment to providing compassionate and professional care. The public nominations spoke volumes about the genuine gratitude patients and their families held for these exceptional individuals. Their testimonials of heartfelt appreciation reaffirming the immense value of patient-centred care at UHK. In honouring the seven award winners for the People of UHK Awards 2023 it showcased the true essence of healthcare excellence –their dedication and selflessness inspire us all and serve as a testament to the transformative power of genuine care.

A poignant moment arrived at the end of the awards, with the presentation of a Lifetime Achievement Award to Mr. Jim O’Mahony, a well admired figure in the Biochemistry department at UHK, who for in the region of four decades has shown his unwavering commitment to excellence has exemplified the spirit of service and leadership.

Mrs. Mary Fitzgerald extended her heartfelt congratulations to all the winners. “Each of our winners is exceptionally deserving,” she remarked, “their dedication and service inspire us all, and we extend our gratitude to the wider community in Kerry for their invaluable nominations.

The event’s eloquent host, Elaine Kinsella, beautifully concluded the People of UHK Awards 2023, thanking the staff of UHK for their unwavering devotion.

The Management of UHK want to express profound appreciation to the judging panel, the community, and everyone involved in making the People of UHK Awards an overwhelming triumph.

 The award winners for 2023 were: 

Patient Care Awards (Nominated by the Public) 

Vivian Fogarty – Newborn Hearing Screener 

Joann Malik – Advanced Midwife Practitioner 

Jack O’Connor – Surgical SHO 

Joe Horgan – Endoscopy Staff Nurse 

Joe Diggins – Catering Dept 

Elaine Dennehy – Renal Nurse Spcialist 

Deirdre Colgan – Nurse Sonographer 

Lifetime Achievement Award (Special Recognition)

Jim O’Mahony (Biochemistry department)

Leadership Award (Nominated by UHK staff)

Mairéad Brosnahan (Specialist CNM, Diabetes) 

People of UHK Award (Nominated by UHK staff) 

Ann O’Riordan (CNM, Rheumatology) 

Team of the Year Award (Nominated by UHK staff)

Cashel Ward Team

Unsung Champion Award (Nominated by UHK staff)

Cora Walsh (CSSD Attendant)
Carty Donohue (Carpenter, Maintenance Team)


Winners Photos 2023